19th Annual "Skills of the Hills" Hedge Event

Saturday 12th March 2016

At Westhayes Farm, Hemyock, EX15 3RJ

By kind permission of Jon and Lorna Pring.

There is a gallery of a few pictures taken during the day below together with a bit of Youtube silliness

Hedgelaying Results

Percy Duck Challenge Cup
1st Colin Clutterbuck
2nd Mike Reed
3rd Alex Bown
4th Willow Drew
Dugdale Cup
1st Dan Strawbridge
2nd Chris Stanton
3rd Alex Hannam
4th Clive Bethell
1st Emma Stapleforth & Matt Townsend
2nd Nigel Howard & Mo Mulligan
3rd Jill Exton & Jen Newman
4th Chris Claxton & Julia Thomas
1st Hayley Dorrington
2nd Morris Burrough
3rd Mark Joynes
4th Fiona Farmer

Other Prizes

Best competitor living in the Blackdown Hills AONB.
Blackdowns Cup
Colin Risdon
Best veteran competitor (aged 60 or over).
Colin Clements Trophy
Nick Dawe
Best Lady Competitor Hayley Dorrington
Best YFC Competitor
The NatWest Cup
Morris Burrough
Best competitor aged under 19.
John Coombes Memorial Shield
Harry Dale
For best work on a poor length.
"Golden Crook"
Mark Joynes
Best regrowth of a length from the 2015 competition.
Roger Vickery Regrowth Cup
Catriona Paton

Baking Competition Results

Victoria Sponge 1st William Machin
2nd Sue Risdon
"Not a Victoria Sponge" 1st Tracey Woollacott
2nd Julie Summers
3rd Mark Joynes
Hedgerow Jam or Jelly 1st Tracey Reader-Hoer
2nd Mark Joynes
3rd Geraldine Fields
Sloe Gin 1st Phil Hawkins
2nd Graham Salmon
3rd William Machin
Meat/Vegetable Pasty 1st Val Grainger
2nd Sue Risdon
3rd Geraldine Field
6 Home Produced Eggs 1st Robert Machin
2nd Freddie Paul
3rd Sophia Walker
Handmade White Cob 1st Sue Risdon
2nd Mark Joynes
Edible Bird's Nest 1st Tiffany Lee
2nd Rosy & Mabel McCulloch
3rd Megan, Sam, & Annabel Pring
Decorated Eggs 1st Emily Leigh-Mallory
2nd Harry Leigh-Mallory
3rd Alex Cregan

The top section of the Open class hedge being laid in 4 minutes rather than 5 hours:

Photographs of the event used on this site are by kind permission of Jacquie Coppard and Kairen Hooker.

Additional photographs courtesy of Trevor Pearce.